The Institute for Environmental Strategies does not stop at the analysis of the environmental crisis, but formulates suitable scientific and political strategies for shaping the ecological future of today’s industrial society.

Ökopol is a self-governing company with democratic decision-making structures. Institute developments are decided upon at regular Ökopol meetings or at the annual conference.

Ökopol employs scientists and experts from the fields of chemistry, physics, biology, law, economics and engineering sciences.

Current Topics

Chemicals Policy

Ökopol’s work in the field of chemicals and chemicals legislation, in particular the REACH-regulation, range from the development of practical implementation tools, such as guidance documents or IT-tools, the organisation of strategic dialogue processes, studies on the evaluation of policy success or strategic consulting ofmore

Emission Reporting

This topic deals quantitatively with the development of air emissions from different economic and industrial activities. It enables policy makers to set national or international reduction targets and to control the effectiveness of environmental policy instruments. On the national level ÖKOPOL mainly worked for themore

Industrial Emissions and Best Available Techniques (BAT)

The European Industrial Emissions Directive (2010/75/EU) is the basis for harmonized permitting, monitoring and inspection of more than 50,000 industrial installations in Europe. The Directive requires the application of best available techniques (BAT) in industry sectors related with environmental impacts. Best available techniques are measuresmore

Resources and Recycling Economy

Within the framework of the paradigm of a sustainable resource management it is a main goal of the work area  waste management and resources to reduce the globally increasing resource consumption through the closing of cycles and thus contribute to the improvement of resource efficiency.more

Environmental Management

Environmental management systems are parts of corporate organisational structures which contribute to the evaluation and improvement of environmentally relevant impacts of companies. Ökopol supports the implementation of such environmental management systems in particular in small and medium sized enterprises. Apart from projects on EMAS andmore

Environmental Policy

  You can read a brief description of this topic here soon.            

Environmentally Sound Products

From the production and use phase until disposal, products have manifold environmental impacts. In this area, the past decades have brought numerous measures in environmental policy as well as corporate approaches that aim at the reduction of adverse environmental impacts. Ökopol can draw upon solidmore

Das Institut für Ökologie und Politik GmbH bleibt nicht bei der Analyse der Umweltkrise stehen, sondern erarbeitet geeignete wissenschaftliche und politische Strategien zur ökologischen Zukunftsgestaltung der heutigen Industriegesellschaft.

Ökopol ist ein selbstverwalteter Betrieb mit demokratischen Entscheidungsstrukturen. Über die Institutsentwicklung entscheidet das Ökopol-Plenum auf seinen regelmäßigen Sitzungen.

Ökopol besteht aus WissenschaftlerInnen und PraktikerInnen aus den Bereichen Chemie, Physik, Geowissenschaften, Biologie, Jura, Wirtschafts- und Ingenieurwissenschaften.

Aktuelle Themen

Chemikalienpolitik

Die Arbeit von Ökopol im Bereich chemikalienpolitischer Regulierungen, insbesondere der REACH-Verordnung, reichen von der Entwicklung praktischer Umsetzungshilfen wie Leitfäden oder IT-Tools über die Begleitung strategischer Dialogprozesse bis hin zu Gutachten zur Politikevaluation oder Identifizierung von Handlungsoptionen für die unterschiedlichen Akteure. Ökopol hat auf EU-Ebene seitmehr

Emissionsberichterstattung

Die quantitative Nachverfolgung der Entwicklung von Luftemissionen aus verschiedenen Wirtschafts- und Industrieaktivitäten ermöglicht es, nationale und internationale Reduktionsziele zu vereinbaren und zu überprüfen sowie die Auswirkungen von umweltpolitischen Instrumenten zu kontrollieren. National hat Ökopol hauptsächlich die Hintergrundarbeit für das Zentrale System Emissionen des Umweltbundesamtes geleistet.mehr

Industrieemissionen und Beste verfügbare Techniken (BVT)

Die europäische Industrieemissionsrichtlinie (2010/75/EU) ist für mehr als 50.000 Industrieanlagen in Europa die Grundlage für eine harmonisierte Genehmigungs- und Überwachungspraxis. Die Richtlinie verlangt in umweltrelevanten Industriebranchen den Einsatz der besten verfügbaren Techniken (BVT). Beste verfügbare Techniken sind Maßnahmen, die bei integrierter Betrachtung aller Umweltmedien denmehr

Ressourcen und Kreislaufwirtschaft

Im Rahmen des Leitbildes einer nachhaltigen Ressourcenwirtschaft ist ein wesentliches Ziel des Arbeitsbereichs Ressourcen und Kreislaufwirtschaft, die Umweltauswirkungen der weltweit wachsenden Inanspruchnahme von Ressourcen durch Kreislaufschließung zu verringern und so einen Beitrag zur Erhöhung der Ressourceneffizienz zu erreichen. Ökopol setzt dabei auf eine breite Palettemehr

Umweltmanagement

Umweltmanagementsysteme sind Teile der betrieblichen Organisationsstruktur, die dazu beitragen, die umweltrelevanten Aspekte des Unternehmens zu bewerten und zu verbessern. Ökopol übernimmt die Aufgabe der Implementierung von Umweltmanagementsystemen, insbesondere bei KMUs. Dabei werden sowohl Projekte zu EMAS und ISO 14000 als auch Methoden unterhalb der Normenebenemehr

Umweltpolitik

   In Kürze können Sie hier eine Beschreibung des Themenfeldes lesen.            

Umweltverträgliche Produkte

Von der Herstellung über die Nutzung bis zur Entsorgungsphase gehen von Produkten vielfältige Umweltwirkungen aus. In diesem Bereich wurden in den letzten Jahrzehnten zahlreiche umweltpolitische Maßnahmen und unternehmensbezogene Ansätze entwickelt, um die negativen Umweltauswirkungen von Produkten zu reduzieren. Ökopol hat umfangreiche Erfahrung in Marktforschung, Beratungmehr