Survey on specific PFCAs (C9-C20) and other fluorinated substances (precursors or similar substances) to develop a restriction proposal under REACH

Access and registration: https://oekopol.limequery.com/135732?lang=en

Background

The German Federal Environmental Agency (Umweltbundesamt – UBA) is currently investigating longer chain perfluorinated carboxylic acids (PFCAs) of chain lengths between C9 and C20 to clarify the need to subject these substances to restriction under REACH (Regulation EC No. 1907/2006). This restriction proposal will also cover so-called precursor substances of the C9-20 PFCAs (for an overview on potential substances that might be covered by this measure, please see this document). Additionally, information on alternatives, that are suited to substitute these substances in uses and products, will be integrated in the restriction proposal and will define its scope (phase out periods, exemptions). To be able to draft a suited measure and to be able to consider special requirements for single uses right from the beginning of the restriction process, the UBA is hereby initiating a collection of information in the value chains of these substances.

Objective

The objective of this survey is to increase the information basis on

  • manufactured and imported amounts of the respective substance groups
  • manufactured and imported amounts of their potential alternatives
  • the type of uses the substances are applied to as well as
  • the economic effects that are linked to the use of the substances.

Please note that it is highly important to provide information on all the use cases you know of (also if only small tonnages of a substance is applied) to avoid unintended consequences for market actors when a regulatory measure is implemented. This is especially true for uses that might contribute to a high added value of products or have a high socio economic value due to particular application (e.g. health care or pharmaceuticals).

Uses are also of particular relevance if they are linked to long phase-out periods of substances (for example due to long product development cycles, a long service life or safety related approval processes, that require longer transition periods for the phase out of substances).

How it works

There will be three question groups:

  1. Your role under REACH
  2. Specification of your PFCAs containing products and/or processes
  3. Some questions about the substitution potential

 

You can share this survey with other persons in your organisation, in case you wish other persons in your organisation to provide data as well. In this case, please forward the link to the survey provided in the email you have received upon your registration to the respective persons.

To pause your data input, in order to share it with your colleagues or to continue later, please click on the “Resume later” button on the bottom of the screen.

To submit the survey, you need to click the “Submit” button on the last page. All your data will be editable until you submit the survey.

In case the substance group of PFCAs and their precursors may comprise a large number of substances, we prepared an Excel sheet that you can use instead of filling in the information online. This gives you the opportunity to extract data from IT systems in your organisation and simplifies the handling of the data you may provide.

You can download a pdf-based preview of the questionnaire here

 

Participate

To register and to participate in the survey, please use the following link. Upon your registration, you will receive your personalized access link for the survey. The survey can be accessed an completed until February 15th, 2017.

Data safety and security

The data will be used by the German Federal Environmental Agency and Ökopol GmbH/Swerea IFV to develop a restriction proposal under REACH. The data you are providing is not anonymised when entered into the questionnaire, as we intend to organise a follow up interview process to clarify open issues that might occur upon the processing of the data you have provided. Data that becomes part of publically available documents are only used in anonymised and aggregated ways.

This survey is hosted by Limeservice GmbH Barmbeker Str. 7a, 22303 Hamburg, Germany in accordance with § 9 of the German Federal Data Protection Act.

Umfrage zu spezifischen PFCAs (C9 – C20) und anderen fluorhaltigen Stoffen (Vorläufer oder ähnliche Stoffe) im Rahmen eines Beschränkungsvorhabens unter REACH

Registrieren und teilnehmen: https://oekopol.limequery.com/135732?lang=de

Hintergrund

Das Umweltbundesamt (UBA) untersucht derzeit längerkettige perfluorierte Carboxylsäuren (perfluorinated carboxylic acids – PFCAs) mit Kettenlängen zwischen C9 und C20, um zu klären, ob die Notwendigkeit besteht, diese Stoffe einer Beschränkung im Rahmen von REACH (Verordnung EU Nr. 1907/2006) zu unterziehen. Dieser Beschränkungsvorschlag soll zudem sogenannte Vorläuferstoffe der C9 – C20 PFCAs umfassen (für eine Übersicht potentieller Stoffe, die im Rahmen der Maßnahme tangiert werden könnten, siehe folgendes Dokument). Zudem werden Informationen zu Alternativen in den Beschränkungsvorschlag eingebunden, welche den genauen Regelungsgegenstand mit beeinflussen (Übergangsfristen, Ausnahmen). Um in der Lage zu sein, eine geeignete Maßnahme zu erarbeiten und spezielle Anforderungen für einzelne Verwendungen von Beginn des Beschränkungsprozess angemessen berücksichtigen zu können, führt das UBA diese Informationssammlung in den Wertschöpfungsketten dieser Stoffe durch.

Zielsetzung

Die Zielsetzung der Umfrage ist es, die nachfolgenden Informationsgrundlagen zu verbessern:

  • Herstellungs- und Importmengen der jeweiligen Stoffgruppen,
  • Herstellungs- und Importmengen der potentiellen Alternativen,
  • Art der Stoffverwendungen sowie
  • ökonomischen Auswirkungen, die mit den Stoffen verbunden sind

Bitte beachten Sie, dass es höchst wichtig ist, Informationen zu allen Ihnen bekannten Verwendungen zu übermitteln (auch für vergleichsweise kleine Stoffmengen), um zu vermeiden, dass ungewollte Markteffekte durch die Maßnahme verursacht werden, wenn diese in Kraft tritt. Dies gilt vor allem für solche Verwendungen, die unter Umständen zu einem hohen sozioökonomischen Mehrwert führen (z. B. Pharmazie und Gesundheitswesen).

Verwendungen in Produkten mit einer langen Lebensdauer sind zudem von besonderer Wichtigkeit, da hier ggf. lange Übergangsfristen für ein Verbot des Stoffes nötig sein können (z. B. bei langen Produktentwicklungszyklen, langen Nutzungsphasen oder sicherheitsbedingter zusätzlicher Genehmigungsverfahren, die einen längeren Übergang für das Verbot der Stoffe nötig machen).

Wie funktioniert die Umfrage?

Es werden im wesentlichen Fragen aus den folgenden Bereichen abgefragt:

  1. Ihre Rolle unter REACH
  2. Spezifikationen der von Ihnen genutzten PFCAs und den damit verknüpften Produkten und/oder Prozessen
  3. Fragen zum Substitutionspotential

 

Sie können die Umfrage mit anderen Personen in Ihrer Organisation teilen, wenn Sie möchten, dass weitere Personen innerhalb der Organisation ebenfalls Daten bereitstellen. In diesem Fall leiten Sie Ihren Zugangslink , den Sie nach Ihrer Registrierung per Email erhalten werden, an die betreffenden Personen weiter.

Wenn Sie die Dateneingabe unterbrechen möchten, können Sie den Zwischenstand jederzeit mit dem „Später fortfahren“-Bedienfeld speichern.

Um Ihre Angaben zu übermitteln, klicken Sie bitte auf das Bedienfeld auf der letzten Seite der Umfrage. All ihre Daten sind so lange änderbar, bis Sie diese final übermitteln.

In Fall der PFCAs und ihrer Vorläuferstoffe können ggf. sehr viele Stoffe betroffen sein. Für diese Fälle haben wir die Möglichkeit vorbereitet, Informationen in einem Excel-Arbeitsblatt zu übermitteln, anstatt die Daten in der Onlinemaske einzugeben. Dies ermöglicht Ihnen zudem Daten direkt aus ihren IT-Systemen zu extrahieren und vereinfacht die Handhabung solcher Datenpakete.

Hier können Sie eine pdf-basierte Voransicht des Fragebogens herunterladen

 

Teilnahme

Um an der Umfrage teilzunehmen, registrieren Sie sich bitte durch Nutzung dieses Teilnahmelinks. Anschließend erhalten Sie Ihren personalisierten Zugangslink. Sie können bis zum 15. Februar 2017 an dieser Umfrage teilnehmen.

Verwendung Ihrer Daten und Datensicherheit

Die von Ihnen übermittelten Daten werden ausschließlich im Rahmen der Erstellung eines Beschränkungsvorschlags unter REACH in aggregierter Form genutzt. Es werden keine Namen von Organisationen mit den Daten verknüpft, die in den Beschränkungsvorschlag eingehen. Wir möchten Sie dennoch bitten, Ihre Kontaktinformationen anzugeben, damit wir im Falle möglicher Rückfragen sowie während des weiteren Prozesses Kontakt mit Ihnen aufnehmen können.

Das Hosting der Umfrage gemäß § 9 BDSG erfolgt durch die Limeservice GmbH Barmbeker Str. 7a, 22303 Hamburg.