Emission Reporting

In Germany, air emissions predominantly result from households, traffic, trade and industry. The reporting on emissions is coordinated by the Federal Environment Agency (Umweltbundesamt) and completed in terms of the so called National emission system. The system facilitates the performance of international reporting duties (such as the duties of the Kyoto Protocol or the Convention on Long-range Transboundary Air Pollution, LRTAP) as well as the reporting according to the EU Directives (e. g. national emission ceilings). Thus, the system facilitates the verification of concerted reduction targets as well as the monitoring of trends of particular pollutants. Besides information on emissions of previous years, the system also includes scenarios on the future development. In this way the emission inventory allows a validation of the impacts of eco-political measures and, if necessary, the elaboration of additional measures in order to achieve the agreed targets.
For the last 20 years Oekopol has been working on a considerable number of projects on behalf of the Federal Environment Agency aiming at the improvement of the national reporting. On the one hand, Oekopol made up detailed inventories on several industries (“source categories”), such as emissions from the use of solvents (CRF 3) and from the food and beverage industry (CRF 2.D.2). On the other hand, Oekopol on behalf of the Federal Environment Agency investigated emission factors underlying the national emission system with respect to the reality in industry sectors. This was done, by way of example, for lime production, refineries, foundries, non-ferrous metals (primary and secondary aluminum, lead, copper and zinc foundries), printing, paint and varnish application, oil extraction as well as for small firing systems in households, trade and military.
From 2003 to 2012 Oekopol worked on international monitoring studies on CO2 emissions of passenger cars and light utility vehicles on behalf of different contracting authorities, notably for the European Commission (Directorate General Climate Action), the European Environment Agency (EEA) and the International Council on Clean Transportation (ICCT). Activities in this context included data analysis, the development, implementation and review of working routines on an organizational, content and IT level, evaluation of implementation of legal requirements in EU member states as well as the development of options for the improvement of the EU Regulations on the reduction of CO2 emissions of passenger cars and of light utility vehicles.
In 2009, Oekopol completed a study on emissions from solvent-containing products on behalf of the European Commission (Directorate General for the Environment). The study’s objective was the evaluation of the European implementation of Directive 2004/42/EC (“Decopaint Directive”) on the reduction of VOC emissions. The study also developed measures for an additional reduction of VOC emissions from solvent-containing products, such as protective coatings, wood coatings, cosmetics and hair sprays.

Current references concerning Emission Reporting

Title Client
Project leader
Project partner
Duration

Title Client
Project leader
Project partner
Duration
Consistancy check of the NMVOC solvents emission inventory of Germany 2000 - 2015 and plausibility check with other models (project no. 72117) German Federal Environment Agency, Dessau (DE)

Project leader:
Ökopol GmbH, Hamburg (DE)
2016 – 2017

V704
Evaluation of the implementation of best available techniques (BAT) in industrial activities: measurement and evaluation of reduction options for greenhouse gases (CO2, N2O) from waste incineration (FKZ 3714 42 313/3) German Federal Environment Agency, Dessau (DE)

Project leader:
Müller BBM GmbH, Planegg (DE)

Project partner:
Ökopol GmbH, Hamburg (DE)
2014 – 2017

V662
21.11.2017

archiv/referenzen/THEMA_EN/THEMA_EN_emissionsberichterstattung_aktuell.html

Emissionsberichterstattung

Das Umweltbundesamt koordiniert die Berichterstattung über Luftschadstoffe, die in Deutschland v. a. aus Haushalten, Verkehr, Gewerbe- und Industrieaktivitäten resultieren. Die Berichterstattung erfolgt im „Nationalen System Emissionen“. Das System ermöglicht es, internationale Berichtspflichten zu erfüllen (z. B. aus dem Kyoto-Protokoll oder dem Genfer Luftreinhalteabkommen) sowie Berichterstattungen durch EU-Richtlinien (z. B. zu Nationalen Emissionsobergrenzen). Das System ermöglicht es somit, politisch vereinbarte Minderungsziele zu überprüfen und Trends einzelner Schadstoffe zu erkennen. Neben Angaben zu Emissionen früherer Jahre enthält das System auch Prognosen über die zukünftige Entwicklung. Somit erlaubt das Emissionsinventar, die Auswirkungen von umweltpolitischen Maßnahmen zu prüfen und bei Bedarf weitere Maßnahmen zur Zielerreichung auszuarbeiten.
Ökopol hat in den letzten 20 Jahren zahlreiche Aufträge des Umweltbundesamtes bearbeitet, die eine Verbesserung der nationalen Berichterstattung zum Ziel hatten. Zum einen hat Ökopol für mehrere Branchen („Emissionskategorien“) detaillierte Inventare erstellt, z. B. für Emissionen aus der Lösemittelanwendung (CRF 3) und aus der Nahrungsmittelindustrie (CRF 2.D.2). Zum anderen hat Ökopol im Auftrag des Umweltbundesamtes für diverse Branchen untersucht, ob die im Nationalen System Emissionen hinterlegten Emissionsfaktoren noch der Realität in den einzelnen Wirtschaftszweigen entsprechen. Dies erfolgte beispielsweise für die Branchen Kalkherstellung, Raffinerien, Gießereien, NE-Metalle (Primär- und Sekundärhütten für Aluminium, Blei, Kupfer, Zink), Druckerei, Lackierung, Saatgutextraktion, sowie für kleine Feuerungsanlagen in Haushalten und im Gewerbe.
International hat Ökopol von 2003 bis 2012 Arbeiten zu den CO2-Emissionen von Pkw und zu leichten Nutzfahrzeugen für verschiedene Auftraggeber betreut, insbesondere für die Europäische Kommission (Generaldirektion Klima), die Europäische Umweltagentur (EEA) und den International Council on Clean Transportation (ICCT). Tätigkeiten in diesem Zusammenhang waren z. B. Datenanalysen, die Erarbeitung, Etablierung und Überprüfung von Arbeitsroutinen auf organisatorischer, inhaltlicher und informationstechnischer Ebene, Übersichten zur Umsetzung gesetzlicher Vorgaben in den EU-Mitgliedstaaten sowie Erarbeitung von Möglichkeiten zur Weiterentwicklung der beiden EU-Verordnungen zur Verringerung von CO2-Emissionen von Pkw und leichten Nutzfahrzeugen.
Eine weitere Emissionsberechnung hat Ökopol federführend im Jahr 2009 für die Europäische Kommission (Generaldirektion Umwelt) im Bereich der lösemittelhaltigen Produkte erstellt. Ziel der Studie war die Überprüfung der Wirkung der Richtlinie 2004/42/EG („Decopaint-Richtlinie“) hinsichtlich der Minderung von VOC-Emissionen. Zusätzlich untersucht die Studie die Auswirkung von Maßnahmen zur weiteren Minderung von VOC-Emissionen aus lösemittelhaltigen Produkten, z.B. für Korrosionsschutzlacke, Holzlacke, Kosmetika und Haarsprays.

    Aktuelle Referenzen zum Thema Emissionsberichterstattung

    Projekttitel Auftraggeber,
    Projektleitung
    Projektpartner
    Zeitraum
    
    Projekttitel Auftraggeber
    Projektleitung
    Projektpartner
    Zeitraum
    Konsistenzprüfung der deutschen Emissionsinventare für NMVOC aus Lösemitteln 2000 – 2015 und Plausibilitätschecks mit anderen Modellen (Projektnr 72117)
    Umweltbundesamt - Emissionsberichterstattung
    Umweltbundesamt, Dessau (DE)

    Projektleitung:
    Ökopol GmbH, Hamburg (DE)
    2016 – 2017

    V704
    Prüfung der Umsetzung des nationalen Standes der Technik (SdT) in verschiedenen Industriebranchen: Messung und Erarbeitung von Minderungsoptionen für klimarelevante Gase (CO2, N2O) aus Abfallverbrennungsanlagen (FKZ 3714 42 313/3)
    Umweltbundesamt: Klimaschutz in der Abfallwirtschaft
    Umweltbundesamt, Dessau (DE)

    Projektleitung:
    Müller BBM GmbH, Planegg (DE)

    Projektpartner:
    Ökopol GmbH, Hamburg (DE)
    2014 – 2017

    V662
    Vertretung der ökol. Gruppen im AK der 6. Niedersächsischen Regierungskommission: Emissionshandel VVV Kommission / Niedersächsische Landesregierung (DE)

    Projektleitung:
    Ökopol GmbH, Hamburg (DE)
    seit 2006

    VArbeitsgruppen
    16.8.2017

    archiv/referenzen/THEMA_DE/THEMA_DE_emissionsberichterstattung_aktuell.html