Environmentally Sound Products

From the production and use phase until disposal, products have manifold environmental impacts. In this area, the past decades have brought numerous measures in environmental policy as well as corporate approaches that aim at the reduction of adverse environmental impacts. Ökopol can draw upon solid experience of market research, expert advice and background studies in the field of Integrated Product Policy and the respective policy instruments. The institute enjoys confidence from all stakeholder groups in the role of promoting and facilitating the stakeholder dialogue in this field.

Since the early nineties Ökopol has been performing Ecolabel related studies and facilitated workshops on overarching aspects like interlinkage of ecolabels with other political instruments. On the other hand, Ökopol has for many years been giving technical input to or leading the development of product group specific criteria. The focus lies on the European Ecolabel and the German Blue Angel but respective work for corporate labelling activities is also included.

Ökopol is also deeply involved in the processes of implementation of the Ecodesign Directive (2009/125/EC) and the Energy Labelling Directive (2010/30/EU) on energy-related products (ErP) within various projects and for several stakeholder groups and authorities including the European Commission (DG Environment), the German Federal Environment Agency and ministries. Both technical and political issues are in the focus of the reflections. Ökopol provides a publicly accessible website providing information on the implementation of the Ecodesign and Energy labelling Directives in English (www.eup-network.de) and German language(www.eup-network.de/de/aktuell/).

The field of Green Procurement is dealt with not only in the above mentioned stakeholder dialogues but also in specific projects for different stakeholders from industry and public authorities (e.g. developing respective guidance for German ministries).

The activities are conducted by the interdisciplinary team of Ökopol experts and are supported by well established contacts to different stakeholder groups (National governments, public authorities, industry associations, companies and NGOs).

Current references concerning Environmentally Sound Products

Title Client
Project leader
Project partner
Duration

Title Client
Project leader
Project partner
Duration
Research and development of new product groups and related criteria for the "Blue Angel" environment label (FKZ: 3717 37 314 0) German Federal Environment Agency, Dessau (DE)

Project leader:
Ökopol GmbH, Hamburg (DE)

Project partner:
Hydrotox GmbH, Freiburg (DE)
2017 – 2020

V719
Scientific contributions to the implementation of the Ecodesign Directive and the Energy Labelling Directive - Third Working Plan (FKZ 3716 37 3120) German Federal Environment Agency, Dessau (DE)

Project leader:
Ökopol GmbH, Hamburg (DE)

Project partner:
Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft e.V. (IZM), Berlin (DE); Öko-Institut e.V., Freiburg (DE); Prof. Dr. Thomas Schomerus, Lüneburg (DE)
2016 – 2019

V693
Further development of the Blue Angel: New ecolabels and dynamization of existing basic award criteria (FKZ 3714 95 305 0) German Federal Environment Agency, Dessau (DE)

Project leader:
Ökopol GmbH, Hamburg (DE)

Project partner:
Hydrotox GmbH, Freiburg (DE); Ifeu Institut für Energie und Umweltforschung GmbH, Heidelberg (DE); IÖW Institut für ökologische Wirtschaftsforschung gGmbH, Berlin (DE)
2014 – 2018

V670
Conception and organisation of a conference on ecodesign ("Wider die Verschwendung III - Ökologische Produktgestaltung fördern") (Project number 79255)
Conference website (German only)
German Federal Environment Agency, Dessau (DE)

Project leader:
Ökopol GmbH, Hamburg (DE)
2017

V713
Further development of the "Blue Angel" programme by implementation of new product labels and dynamic elements in existing labels for the product groups: street lighting, toys, paintboxes (FKZ: 3713 95 322) German Federal Environment Agency, Dessau (DE)

Project leader:
Öko-Institut e.V., Freiburg (DE)

Project partner:
Ökopol GmbH, Hamburg (DE)
2013 – 2017

V644
Incorporation of ecological aspects of product design in designers formation (FKZ: 3712 95 303) German Federal Environment Agency, Dessau (DE)

Project leader:
Ökopol GmbH, Hamburg (DE)

Project partner:
Internationales Designzentrum Berlin e.V. (IDZ), Berlin (DE); Sustainability and workX, Hamburg (DE)
2012 – 2017

V625
21.11.2017

archiv/referenzen/THEMA_EN/THEMA_EN_umweltvertraegliche-produkte_aktuell.html

Umweltverträgliche Produkte

Von der Herstellung über die Nutzung bis zur Entsorgungsphase gehen von Produkten vielfältige Umweltwirkungen aus. In diesem Bereich wurden in den letzten Jahrzehnten zahlreiche umweltpolitische Maßnahmen und unternehmensbezogene Ansätze entwickelt, um die negativen Umweltauswirkungen von Produkten zu reduzieren. Ökopol hat umfangreiche Erfahrung in Marktforschung, Beratung und Hintergrund-Studien auf dem Gebiet der integrierten Produktpolitik und der entsprechenden politischen und rechtlichen Instrumente. Als Teilnehmer, Förderer und Moderator von Akteursdialogen in diesem Themenbereich genießt das Institut das Vertrauen aller Interessengruppen.

Seit den frühen neunziger Jahren führt Ökopol Studien zu Umweltzeichen durch und moderiert Workshops zu übergreifenden Aspekten – wie der Vernetzung von Umweltzeichen mit anderen politischen Instrumenten. Auf der anderen Seite leitet Ökopol die Entwicklung produktgruppenspezifischer Kriterien oder unterstützt diese durch technische Beiträge. Zwar liegt der Schwerpunkt auf dem Europäischen Umweltzeichen und dem deutschen Blauen Engel, doch umfassen die Tätigkeiten auch unternehmensspezifische Kennzeichen.

Ökopol ist an den Prozessen zur Umsetzung der Ökodesign-Richtlinie (2009/125/EG) und der Richtlinie zur Energieverbrauchskennzeichnung (2010/30/EU) für energieverbrauchsrelevante Produkte (ErP) im Rahmen verschiedener Projekte und für mehrere Interessengruppen und Behörden, einschließlich der Europäischen Kommission (GD Umwelt), des deutschen Umweltbundesamtes und deutscher Ministerien, intensiv beteiligt. Sowohl technische als auch politische Themen stehen dabei im Fokus der Betrachtungen. Ökopol bietet eine öffentlich zugängliche Webseite zum aktuellen Stand der Umsetzung der Ökodesign- und Energieverbrauchskennzeichnungs-Richtlinien in englischer (www.eup-network.de) und deutscher Sprache (www.eup-network.de/de/aktuell/) an.

Im Bereich Umweltfreundliche Beschaffung ist Ökopol nicht nur an den oben genannten Akteurs-Dialogen beteiligt, sondern auch an konkreten Projekten für verschiedene Akteure in der Industrie und in öffentlichen Behörden, z. B. bei der Entwicklung von entsprechenden Leitlinien für die deutschen Ministerien.

Die Tätigkeiten von Ökopol werden von einem interdisziplinären Team durchgeführt und durch etablierte Kontakte zu verschiedenen Interessengruppen (nationalen Regierungen, Behörden, Verbänden, Unternehmen und NGOs) unterstützt.

Aktuelle Referenzen zum Thema Umweltverträgliche Produkte

Projekttitel Auftraggeber,
Projektleitung
Projektpartner
Zeitraum

Projekttitel Auftraggeber
Projektleitung
Projektpartner
Zeitraum
Wissenschaftliche Begleitung der Umsetzung der Ökodesign-Richtlinie und Energieverbrauchskennzeichnungsrichtlinie - Drittes Arbeitsprogramm (FKZ 3716373120) Umweltbundesamt, Dessau (DE)

Projektleitung:
Ökopol GmbH, Hamburg (DE)

Projektpartner:
Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft e.V. (IZM), Berlin (DE); Öko-Institut e.V., Freiburg (DE); Prof. Dr. Thomas Schomerus, Lüneburg (DE)
2016 – 2019

V693
Fachliche Vorbereitung und Durchführung einer Tagung zum Thema "Wider die Verschwendung III - Ökologische Produktgestaltung fördern" (Projektnr. 79255)
Tagungswebseite
Umweltbundesamt, Dessau (DE)

Projektleitung:
Ökopol GmbH, Hamburg (DE)
2017

V713
Leitfaden – Ecodesign von Kunststoffverpackungen Planung der ScopingPhase IK Industrievereinigung Kunststoffverpackungen e.V., Bad Homburg (DE)

Projektleitung:
Ökopol GmbH, Hamburg (DE)
2016 – 2017

V709
Weiterentwicklung Blauer Engel: Neue Umweltzeichen und Dynamisierung bestehender Vergabegrundlagen (FKZ 3714 95 305 0) Umweltbundesamt, Dessau (DE)

Projektleitung:
Ökopol GmbH, Hamburg (DE)

Projektpartner:
Hydrotox GmbH, Freiburg (DE); Ifeu Institut für Energie und Umweltforschung GmbH, Heidelberg (DE); IÖW Institut für ökologische Wirtschaftsforschung gGmbH, Berlin (DE)
2014 – 2017

V670
Weiterentwicklung Blauer Engel-Programm durch neue Umweltzeichen und Dynamisierung (FKZ: 3713 95 322) für die Produktgruppen: Straßenbeleuchtung, Spielzeug, Malfarben Umweltbundesamt, Dessau (DE)

Projektleitung:
Öko-Institut e.V., Freiburg (DE)

Projektpartner:
Ökopol GmbH, Hamburg (DE)
2013 – 2017

V644
Verankerung von ökologischen Aspekten der Produktgestaltung in der Designerausbildung (FKZ: 3712 95 303)
Ecodesign Kit - im Projekt entwickelte Themenpapiere zum ökologischen Design
Umweltbundesamt, Dessau (DE)

Projektleitung:
Ökopol GmbH, Hamburg (DE)

Projektpartner:
Internationales Designzentrum Berlin e.V. (IDZ), Berlin (DE); Sustainability and workX, Hamburg (DE)
2012 – 2017

V625
16.8.2017

archiv/referenzen/THEMA_DE/THEMA_DE_umweltvertraegliche-produkte_aktuell.html