Philosophy

The Institute for Environmental Strategies develops environmental strategies and instruments which contribute to the sustainability of economic and political policies. To Ökopol, “sustainability” means the application of the precautionary principle, life styles that are maintainable in the long-term, openness to new ideas and inventiveness as well as the acceptance by society. “Sustainability” is particularly visible in an economy, which substitutes economic benefits with enhanced performance rather than with the quantitative increase in material and energy output.

Our activities contribute to the conservation of resources and limiting the use of hazardous substances in the production of goods and services. To achieve this, the cooperation of business and political stakeholders needs to be restructured. Cooperation, communication and the syntheses of different perspectives are key factors for success which we are promoting consistently through our work. Without these, it would not be possible actively to influence the pattern of use and supply chain of products.

Actualising of environmental goals in a sustainable economy requires new evaluation and management tools. At the same time it is necessary to develop and harmonise established regulatory instruments under the prevailing conditions of globalisation. Our research and development projects are characterised by the combination of a variety of tools used in harmony.

At Ökopol, we believe that research, development and consultation need to work in concert, since in most cases, ready-made solutions are insufficient. This is why we involve relevant stakeholders in the working process at an early stage. We encourage participants to take active part in formulating findings, even if or particularly when, finding a common language is the first challenge. Ökopol places great value on presenting research results that are comprehensible and thus useful both for discussions of controversial topics and in making practical decisions.

Our customers

We advise enterprises and trade associations, public administration, environmental associations and trade unions. Furthermore we teach at universities and other institutions of higher education. Over the course of the years a durable consulting relationship to certain clients has developed. For example:

  • European Commission
  • Federal Environment Agency as well as federal and regional ministries
  • Companies and associations of the printing industry
  • automotive industry
  • electronics industry
  • health sectors
  • international NGOs
  • public administration and enterprises in accession countries

Philosophie

Das Institut für Ökologie und Politik GmbH entwickelt umweltbezogene Strategien und Instrumente, die zur Nachhaltigkeit von Wirtschaftsweisen und Politikstilen beitragen. „Nachhaltigkeit“ hat für uns zu tun mit ökologischer Effizienz und Vorsorge, mit der langfristigen Tragfähigkeit von Lebensstilen, mit Lernoffenheit und Erfindungsreichtum sowie mit gesellschaftlicher Akzeptanz. „Nachhaltigkeit“ drückt sich vor allem auch in einem Wirtschaften aus, das ökonomischen Ertrag durch neue Qualitäten erzielt und nicht durch das quantitative Wachsen von Material- und Energiedurchsätzen.

Wir tragen dazu bei, dass der Einsatz von Ressourcen und gefährlichen Stoffen bei der Herstellung von Produkten und Dienstleistungen vermindert wird. Häufig muss dafür das Zusammenspiel der Wirtschafts- und der Politikakteure neu gestaltet werden. Zusammenarbeit, Dialog und die Zusammenführung unterschiedlicher Sichtweisen sind dabei wichtige Erfolgsfaktoren, die wir durch unsere Arbeit gezielt fördern. Ohne sie lassen sich die komplexen Wertschöpfungsketten und Nutzungsmuster von Produkten nicht aktiv verändern.

Die Verwirklichung umweltbezogener Ziele in einer nachhaltigen Wirtschaft erfordert zudem neue Bewertungs- und Managementinstrumente. Gleichzeitig gilt es aber auch, bewährte regulative Instrumente weiterzuentwickeln und zu harmonisieren, gerade unter den Rahmenbedingungen der Globalisierung. Die Kombination verschiedener Instrumente miteinander spielt in unseren Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekten häufig eine zentrale Rolle.

Für Ökopol gehören Forschung, Entwicklung und Beratung zusammen, denn Problemlösungen „von der Stange“ sind eher die Ausnahme. Deshalb beziehen wir in unseren Projekten die relevanten Akteure frühzeitig in den Arbeitsprozess ein und beteiligen sie an der Formulierung der Arbeitsergebnisse, auch und gerade wenn die Akteure erst zu einer „gemeinsamen Sprache“ finden müssen. Zudem legt Ökopol Wert darauf, Forschungsergebnisse verständlich darzustellen und so aufzubereiten, dass sie bei der Diskussion kontroverser Themen und beim Fällen praktischer Entscheidungen von Nutzen sind.

Unsere Kunden

Wir beraten Unternehmen und Wirtschaftsverbände, die öffentliche Verwaltung, Umweltverbände und Gewerkschaften. Zudem unterrichten wir an Hochschulen und verschiedenen Fortbildungseinrichtungen. Dabei hat sich im Laufe der Jahre zu bestimmten Kundenkreisen ein dauerhaftes Beratungsverhältnis entwickelt:

  • Europäische Kommission
  • Umweltbundesamt sowie Bundes- und Landesministerien
  • Betriebe und Verbände der Druckindustrie
  • Unternehmen der Automobilindustrie
  • Unternehmen der Elektronikindustrie
  • Öffentliche Unternehmen des Gesundheitswesens
  • Internationale Umweltverbände
  • Öffentliche Verwaltung und Unternehmen in den mittel- und osteuropäischen EU Beitrittsländern