Survey on specific PFASs (C4-C7) and other fluorinated substances (precursors or similar substances) to develop a restriction proposal under REACH

Remarks and Clarifications!

Due to some questions from stakeholders, we want to inform you on the following issues:

  • There were requests to have more time for data collection. As a reaction to this we extended the timeline for completing the survey by one month until 15th April 2018.
  • There were contradicting information in the background document whether sulfonated substances are covered by the survey or not.
    The answer to this question is: Yes, these substances are in the scope of this survey! There was a mistake, when we drafted the document. We are apologising for this.
  • Stakeholders asked, if chapter 4 of the survey is related to in principle all fluorinated compounds.
    The answer to this is: No! Only compounds, that can be derived from the short chain substances are of interest (this indeed can include polymers).

Access and registration:


The German Environment Agency (Umweltbundesamt – UBA) is currently investigating specific representatives of poly- and perfluoro alkyl substances (PFASs). In particular the UBA is collecting information on the manufacture and use of such short chain PFASs with the aim to identify areas of use that pose a risk to the environment and/or human health that needs to be addressed by an EU-wide regulatory measure under REACH (a restriction). Furthermore, the data collection covers the availability of alternatives to the use of fluorinated compounds and the socio economic impacts of a potential restriction scenario for the various areas of application.

Short chain PFASs in this regard are substances with chain lengths < 7 perfluorinated C-atoms, more likely the main representatives C4 and C6. These can originate from various chemical groups. Some examples are given below (not conclusive):

  • Per- and Polyfluorinated Carboxylic Acids (PFCAs)
  • Fluorotelomer alcohols (FTOHs)
  • Fluorotelomer iodides (FTIs)
  • Fluorotelomer acrylates (FTAs) and Fluorotelomer methyl acrylates (FMAs)
  • Per- and Polyfluorinated Sulfonic Acids (PFSAs)

Within the scope of the information collection are also polymeric substances that are generated out of these building blocks, such as several fluorotelomers etc.

It should be highlighted that the outcome of such a data collection is to define the scope of the restriction. This also includes:

  • The identification of uses, materials or final products where good control can be assumed. Such applications can be excluded from the scope of the restriction proposal.
  • Furthermore, exemptions can be included in the restriction proposal if these can be justified, e.g. if the lack a of viable alternatives can be demonstrated or a high socio economic importance of the application area.
  • Information on the extend of the use, the content of the substances concerned in products and the socioeconomic impact of a planned “non-use” scenario help to define thresholds of the later restriction.

To be able to draft a suited measure and to be able to consider special requirements for single uses right from the beginning of the restriction process, the UBA is hereby initiating a collection of information in the value chains of these substances.

Therefore the authors of the restriction proposal would welcome any information in this regard that will be provided by stakeholders that can be included into the proposal.


The objective of this survey is to increase the information basis on

  • manufactured and imported amounts of the respective substance groups
  • manufactured and imported amounts of their potential alternatives
  • the type of uses the substances are applied to as well as
  • the economic effects that are linked to the use of the substances.

Please note that it is highly important to provide information on all the use cases you know of (also if only small tonnages of a substance is applied) to avoid unintended consequences for market actors when a regulatory measure is implemented. This is especially true for uses that might contribute to a high added value of products or have a high socio economic value due to particular application (e.g. health care or pharmaceuticals).

Uses are also of particular relevance if they are linked to long phase-out periods of substances (for example due to long product development cycles, a long service life or safety related approval processes, that require longer transition periods for the phase out of substances).


To register and to participate in the survey, please use one of the following links that represent your organisation (it is possible to reply to more than one questionnaire if your organisation represents more than one role).

Upon your registration, you will receive your personalized access link for the survey. It is possible to exchange this link with other persons in your organisation so more than one person can add information to the survey. The survey can be accessed an completed until march, 15th, 2018.

How it works

There will be four question groups:

  • Which substances are relevant for your organisation.
  • How are processes performed in your organisation.
  • What might be the economic consequences on your organisation and to what extend do you see a possibility for substitution.
  • How do you in general evaluate a restriction.

You can share this survey with other persons in your organisation, in case you wish other persons in your organisation to provide data as well. In this case, please forward the link to the survey provided in the email you have received upon your registration to the respective persons.

To pause your data input, in order to share it with your colleagues or to continue later, please click on the “Resume later” button on the bottom of the screen.

To submit the survey, you need to click the “Submit” button on the last page. All your data will be editable until you submit the survey.

In case the substance group of PFASs and their precursors may comprise a large number of substances, we prepared an Excel sheet that you can use instead of filling in the information online. This gives you the opportunity to extract data from IT systems in your organisation and simplifies the handling of the data you may provide.

You can download previews of the several surveys on the right side bar of this website. (Note please: This preview is only for your information and is not suited to provide the information.)

Data safety and security

The data will be used by the German Environment Agency and Ökopol GmbH/Swerea IFV to develop a restriction proposal under REACH. The data you are providing is not anonymised when entered into the questionnaire, as we intend to organise a follow up interview process to clarify open issues that might occur upon the processing of the data you have provided. Data that becomes part of publically available documents are only used in anonymised and aggregated ways.

This survey is hosted by Limeservice GmbH Barmbeker Str. 7a, 22303 Hamburg, Germany in accordance with § 9 of the German Federal Data Protection Act.

Umfrage zu spezifischen PFASs (C4–C7) und anderen fluorhaltigen Stoffen (Vorläufer oder ähnliche Stoffe) im Rahmen eines Beschränkungsvorhabens unter REACH

Hinweise und Klarstellungen!

Aufgrund einiger Nachfragen von Akteuren möchten wir Sie über folgende Dinge informieren:

  • Es gab den Wunsch, mehr Zeit für die Datensammlung zu haben. Daher haben wir die Umfragefrist um einen Monat bis zum 15. April 2018 verlängert!
  • Im Hintergrunddokument besteht ein Widerspruch hinsichtlich der Frage, ob sulfonierte Verbindungen (z. B. PFBS) in der Umfrage berücksichtigt werden.
    Die Antwort darauf ist: Ja, diese Stoffe sind Gegenstand der Umfrage!
    Uns ist bei der Erstellung des Dokuments leider ein Fehler unterlaufen, dafür entschuldigen wir uns.
  • Akteure haben gefragt, ob sich Kapitel 4 der Umfragen auf grundsätzlich alle Fluorverbindungen bezieht.
    Die Antwort dazu lautet: Nein! Nur Verbindungen, die sich aus den kurzkettigen Stoffen ableiten lassen, sind von Interesse (hier allerdings auch Polymere).

Registrieren und teilnehmen:

Hintergrund

Das deutsche Umweltbundsamt (UBA) untersucht derzeit ausgewählte Vertreter aus der Gruppe der per- und polyfluorierten Stoffe (PFASs). Insbesondere sammelt das UBA Informationen zur Herstellung und Verwendung solcher kurzkettigen PFASs. Ziel ist es, Anwendungsbereiche zu identifizieren, die ein Risiko für die Umwelt und/oder die menschliche Gesundheit darstellen, welches eine EU-weit gültige Maßnahme im Rahmen von REACH (Beschränkung) notwendig macht. Des Weiteren dient die Informationserhebung der Identifizierung potenzieller Alternativen zur Verwendung fluorierter Verbindungen in den verschiedenen Anwendungsfeldern.

Kurzkettige PFASs umfassen in diesem Zusammenhang Stoffe mit Kettenlängen < 7 perfluorierter C-Atome. Dabei liegt ein Schwerpunkt auf den Verbindungen mit C4 und C6. Diese können aus zahlreichen chemischen Gruppen stammen. Einige, nicht abschließende Beispiele sind im Folgenden aufgelistet:

  • Per- und polyfluorierte Carboxylsäuren (PFCAs)
  • Fluorotelomer Alkohole (FTOHs)
  • Fluorotelomer Iodide (FTIs)
  • Fluorotelomer Acrylate (FTAs) und Fluorotelomer Methlyacrylate (FMAs)
  • Per- und polyfluorierte Sulfonsäuren (PFSAs)

Gegenstand dieser Informationssammlung sind auch polymere Stoffe die aus solchen Bausteinen aufgebaut wurden, wie z.B. verschiedenen Fluortelomere.

Es sollte betont werden, dass die Ergebnisse der Datensammlung dazu genutzt werden, den Geltungsbereich der Beschränkung festzulegen. Das beinhaltet:

  • Die Identifizierung von Verwendungen, Materialien oder Endprodukten bei denen eine gute Kontrolle angenommen werden kann. Solche Anwendungen können vom Regelungsgegenstand der Beschränkung ausgenommen werden.
  • Des Weiteren können Ausnahmen von der Beschränkung gewährt werden, wenn es dafür eine hinreichende Begründung gibt, z.B. das Fehlen einsetzbarer Alternativen aufgezeigt werden kann oder ein hohes sozioökonomisches Interesse für eine Anwendung besteht.
  • Informationen zum Ausmaß der Verwendungen, dem Gehalt betroffener Stoffe in Produkten und den sozio-ökonomischen Auswirkungen des geplanten „non use“-Szenarios, können helfen Grenzwerte in der geplanten Beschränkung festzulegen.

Um in der Lage zu sein, eine geeignete Maßnahme zu erarbeiten und spezielle Anforderungen für einzelne Verwendungen von Beginn des Beschränkungsprozess an angemessen berücksichtigen zu können, führt das UBA diese Informationssammlung in den Wertschöpfungsketten dieser Stoffe durch.

Aus diesem Grunde begrüßen die Autoren des Beschränkungsvorschlages jegliche Information aus diesen Bereichen, die von Dritten zur Berücksichtigung in einem Vorschlag übermittelt wird.

Zielsetzung

Die Zielsetzung der Umfrage ist es, die nachfolgenden Informationsgrundlagen zu verbessern:

  • Herstellungs- und Importmengen der jeweiligen Stoffgruppen,
  • Herstellungs- und Importmengen der potentiellen Alternativen,
  • Art der Stoffverwendungen sowie
  • ökonomischen Auswirkungen, die mit den Stoffen verbunden sind.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass es höchst wichtig ist, Informationen zu allen Ihnen bekannten Verwendungen zu übermitteln (auch für vergleichsweise kleine Stoffmengen), um zu vermeiden, dass ungewollte Markteffekte durch die Maßnahme verursacht werden, wenn diese in Kraft tritt. Dies gilt vor allem für solche Verwendungen, die unter Umständen zu einem hohen sozioökonomischen Mehrwert führen (z. B. Pharmazie und Gesundheitswesen).

Verwendungen in Produkten mit einer langen Lebensdauer sind zudem von besonderer Wichtigkeit, da hier ggf. lange Übergangsfristen für ein Verbot des Stoffes nötig sein können (z.B. bei langen Produktentwicklungszyklen, langen Nutzungsphasen oder sicherheitsbedingten zusätzlicher Genehmigungsverfahren, die einen längeren Übergang für das Verbot der Stoffe nötig machen).

Teilnahme

Um an der Umfrage teilzunehmen, registrieren Sie sich bitte durch Nutzung des für sie passenden Teilnahmelinks (sie können auch mehrere Fragebögen beantworten, wenn sie mehrere Rollen gleichzeitig innehaben).

Nach Eingabe einiger weniger Daten zu ihrer Person und Organisation erhalten Sie Ihren personalisierten Zugangslink. Diesen können sie mit anderen Personen in ihrer Organisation austauschen, so dass sie gemeinsam an der Beantwortung der Fragen arbeiten können. Sie können bis zum 15. März 2018 an dieser Umfrage teilnehmen.

Wie funktioniert die Umfrage?

Es werden im wesentlichen Fragen aus den folgenden Bereichen abgefragt:

  1. Welche Stoffe kommen in Ihrer Organisation vor (inkl. Mengen).
  2. Wie werden Prozesse in Ihrer Organisation ausgeführt.
  3. Welche ökonomischen Auswirkungen bestehen für Ihre Organisation und welches Substitutionspotential sehen Sie.
  4. Wie bewerten Sie eine geplante Beschränkung.

Sie können die Umfrage mit anderen Personen in Ihrer Organisation teilen, wenn Sie möchten, dass weitere Personen innerhalb der Organisation ebenfalls Daten bereitstellen. In diesem Fall leiten Sie Ihren Zugangslink, den Sie nach Ihrer Registrierung per Email erhalten werden, an die betreffenden Personen weiter.

Wenn Sie die Dateneingabe unterbrechen möchten, können Sie den Zwischenstand jederzeit mit dem „Später fortfahren“-Bedienfeld speichern.

Um Ihre Angaben zu übermitteln, klicken Sie bitte auf das Bedienfeld auf der letzten Seite der Umfrage. Alle Ihre Daten sind so lange änderbar, bis Sie diese final übermitteln.

In Fall der PFASs und ihrer Vorläuferstoffe können ggf. sehr viele Stoffe betroffen sein. Für diese Fälle haben wir die Möglichkeit vorbereitet, Informationen in einem Excel-Arbeitsblatt zu übermitteln, anstatt die Daten in der Onlinemaske einzugeben. Dies ermöglicht Ihnen zudem, Daten direkt aus Ihren IT-Systemen zu extrahieren und vereinfacht die Handhabung solcher Datenpakete.

Sie können Voransichten der einzelnen Umfragen auf der rechten Seite dieser Webseite herunterladen. (Bitte beachten Sie: Diese Voransicht dient nur der Vorabinformation und ist nicht geeignet die Informationen zu übermitteln.)

Verwendung Ihrer Daten und Datensicherheit

Die von Ihnen übermittelten Daten werden ausschließlich im Rahmen der Erstellung eines Beschränkungsvorschlags unter REACH in aggregierter Form genutzt. Es werden keine Namen von Organisationen mit den Daten verknüpft, die in den Beschränkungsvorschlag eingehen. Wir möchten Sie dennoch bitten, Ihre Kontaktinformationen anzugeben, damit wir im Falle möglicher Rückfragen sowie während des weiteren Prozesses, Kontakt mit Ihnen aufnehmen können.

Das Hosting der Umfrage gemäß § 9 BDSG erfolgt durch die Limeservice GmbH Barmbeker Str. 7a, 22303 Hamburg.